Queen Elizabeth Park souvenir plate


This large souvenir plate dishes out nostalgic notions of Vancouver’s beloved Queen Elizabeth Park with its 1960s-style photograph decoupaged on lacquered bamboo surface. The image showcases the park’s manicured gardens against a metropolitan backdrop – a place of repose nestled within a bustling city. This plate was purchased by Ada Mrytle Bates of Telkwa B.C. on a visit to her daughter in Vancouver

Queen Elizabeth Park, originally Little Mountain Park, was renamed after the visit of Her Majesty and King George VI in 1939. In the 1960s the Park grew to become the verdant locale it is today after the Bulb Growers of B.C. donated tens of thousand of floral bulbs. At this time both a pitch and putt golf course and lawn bowling club were established and the Bloedel conservatory and forest hall were also built.

Date Range 
c. 1958 - 1962
Place of Manufacture 
Place of Use 
Telkwa and Summerland, B.C.
30.5 cm diameter, 2.5 cm high
Museum Location 
Catalog Number 
Leanna McDonald, 2008